The Beginning

Hi, I’m Mike. I’m 26 years old. I’m six feet tall, and I currently weigh 275 pounds. I could probably bench press a can of peanuts–once. I only run when I’m in danger of being eaten by a bear; there are no bears in my city, so my shoes keep tread pretty well. I have some pretty poor health and fitness habits–but that’s about to change.

It’s almost 5PM on a Sunday. I did some jog/walk interval training this morning. I’ve done planks, crunches, and jumping jacks during commercial breaks of the Cubs game. I feel better than I have in a long time. I have a goal, and I’d like to share it with you:

Over the next 12-18 months, I will train for and complete a Tough Mudder event.

I’ve been heavy most of my life. I’m done with it. But, I don’t think that having a “magic number”–wanting to hit a certain weight–is good enough. That’s the sort of thing that would drive me crazy. One pound over, and a person might freak out. No, I wanted to accomplish something. I wanted a long-term goal to push me toward all-around fitness. One of my friends showed me this video, and instantly, I knew I wanted to compete in a Tough Mudder.

That’s where this starts. I’m sore, I’m a newb, and I’m happy. Bring it on.

5 responses to “The Beginning

  1. Pingback: The Danger of Goals | Couch to Tough Mudder

  2. How is your Tough Mudder training going? I am definitely getting a tattoo once I hit the finish line. đŸ™‚

    • Training is going slow, but well. I’m seeing improvement every time I hit the gym, which gives me a huge confidence boost. And yes, when I cross the finish line, I’m gonna down that Dos Equis and get the ink. Happy Mudding!

  3. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  4. Good article. І will be dealing with man̉¯ of these issues
    as well..

Leave a Reply

