Gym Hate and Endurance

When the worst part of your day is that you forgot your post-workout drink at your office, which is only two miles from your gym, it’s safe to say you had a damn good day.

Today was supposed to be a cardio day, but my legs workout yesterday (read: the first legs workout I’ve done in forever) left my quads and hamstrings a little sore (read: I was so angry at the slight pain, I wanted to kick a puppy, but I didn’t because that would have caused even more pain, which would have led to more puppy kicking, and more pain, etc.). So, for the sake of my legs–and to keep PETA off my back–I went for a chest/triceps routine. Here’s the routine, for anyone curious:

Seated Chest Press: 4 sets, 8 reps, 75 lbs
Pec Deck:  4 sets, 8 reps, 18 lbs (yeah, that’s light, but the last set had me good and sore)
Seated One-Arm Tricep Extension: 4 sets, 8 reps, 35 lbs
Standing One-Arm Tricep Extension (side): 4 sets, 8 reps, 25 lbs (this form was a  bit harder, and felt great)
Tricep Rope Pushdown, Two-Hand: 3 sets, 8 reps, 25 lbs

Not a particularly heavy workout, but the key to completing a Tough Mudder (TM) won’t be strength–it’ll be endurance. Not to say there’s anything wrong with being strong. I would love to be stronger than I am now. But, a guy with endurance is going to finish a TM event, while Mr. Chachi McUpperbody will be breathing heavy on the sidelines.

I’ll talk more about endurance another day. Right now, it’s time to ice my legs, and keep my broke ass away from puppies.

2 responses to “Gym Hate and Endurance

  1. Brett! I love “Art of Manliness”! It’s one of the best sites on the Web! Thanks for the link, sir!

Leave a Reply

