Battle of the Bulge

Two weeks ago, my workplace started a weight-loss competition. It’s our office versus another office, and it’s based on percentage of weight lost. The competition lasts for three months total. The winning office gets a cookout–which, isn’t that fucking hysterical?–and the top performer from each office wins $500.

Five. Hundred. Fucking. Dollars. Yes, please.

To claim this magnificent prize, and get closer to TM status, I’ve become much more hardcore with calorie tracking. I’ve switched from The Daily Plate to MyFitnessPal, mainly because of the interface. And by interface, I mean HOW AWESOME IS THAT BARCODE SCANNER TO ADD FOOD, AMIRITE?!

Ahem…I’m also looking for a C25K app so I can get my digital run on and track my progress. I figure I should harness the motivation to track calories, and transfer some of it to building up my running endurance.

The only downside to this whole competition thing is that I have to weigh myself once a week. I’m not really a big fan of the scale, as it makes me start playing the numbers game in my head. I’m even particular about which scale I weight myself on–the gym I’m a member of has three locations, and I sincerely believe that two of them hire a leprechaun to stand on the scale behind you when you get on. On the plus side, I’ve actually lost ten pounds in the last two weeks, which is more than I’d done in the past couple months of training. That timeframe includes a trip back home, where I usually eat like shit. I don’t believe I can keep that level of progress up–that’d be 20 pounds a month, which isn’t healthy–but I believe I can keep my weight trending down.

I’ll try to keep you posted on the competition. And if I win the grand prize, I’ll be sure to gloat and boast and brag a bunch in a special post.

Keep workin’, Mudder Lovers.

5 responses to “Battle of the Bulge

  1. I wish I was eating a corn dog while eating this…. would make it so much better 🙂

  2. Interval training, Mike. The weight loss is decent, but it takes your endurance from shit to the shit in as short a time as I have ever experienced.Especially when i was first starting (circa 2006), what impeded my weight loss was my lack of endurance for intense cardio. One of the things that impeded my intense cardio was my weight. So I was fucked. I did the slow and steady for a while and it took a long time, but I eventually got to regular sub-30 minute 5Ks. Then i tried interval training. I went from 5K finisher to regular 10 miler in a few months. It has been shown to drastically outperform moderate-intensity long workouts. So do your runs in alternating bursts and then walk. Eventually you will run at a slower pace with 30 second quasi-sprints thrown in. You will be running off pounds in no time. Just don’t ramp up mileage too quickly or your knees will be fucked.

    I am not trying to tell you what to do like I know better, but I feel like we have somewhat similar initial approaches and challenges to our fitness. This is stuff I wish somebody had told me when i was running a mile a day by myself on an empty track near my house. We need to do another dinner soon. My place, maybe. I will let ya know.

  3. I clearly get super stoked when reading your posts!! It’s so awesome that you are doing this!

  4. Mike, I used the Ease into 5k app on my iphone. First and only app I have ever paid for. It was great, too paid I didn’t keep to it… Good luck buddy!

  5. I want five hundred fucking dollars!!
    Good luck!!!

    I use the spark people food tracker thingy and it has the barcode scanner, but it NEVER, EVER works for me. I think it’s because I’m Canadian and eat weird food. It only seems to work on major brands like Kraft or whatever.
    BOOURNS.

Leave a Reply

