A Changed Mind

When I started Couch to Tough Mudder, my goal was very simple: to complete a Tough Mudder challenge within the somewhat-near future. When I created that goal, I didn’t have a plan on how to achieve it. (To be honest, I still don’t, but that’s the fun part.) I also didn’t understand the ripple effect that would be created in my mind by what, at the time, seemed like a relatively small decision.

The more I’ve thought about my quest, the more complex it’s become. I’ve realized that there will be much more to getting in great physical condition than just exercising, eating well, and getting enough rest. I’ve started thinking more about the origins of the foods I eat, and about the types of foods that I want to put in my body. I’ve started reading ingredient labels too, which has been a real eye-opener.

Essentially, I’ve put myself on a whole foods, plant-based diet. I’m not cutting out beef, poultry, pork, seafood, or dairy, I’m just eating less of them. Except maybe dairy, because I drink milk as often as dumb people use the term ‘YOLO.’ I would like to reign in dairy eventually, but baby steps come first.

Yes, I’ve been reading Michael Pollan’s books. Yes, I’ve seen Food, Inc. And yes, I do think the science and environmental/ecological arguments make sense. Hippie? Maybe. Healthy? Absolutely.

I’ll expand on this in a day or two. Basic thoughts: the type of food you eat is just as important, if not more so, than the amount; I have to lose a lot of weight in order to compete; designing a training regimen is going to be harder than I thought, but it’s something that must be done.

2 responses to “A Changed Mind

  1. Food is important on so many different levels. From losing weight to preventing cancers to just feeling good.

    Have you tried almond milk? i cut out cows milk after i tried it, and i wasnt even planning on it.

  2. I’ve recently become vegetarian again, except I eat seafood from time to time, but eating as much organic and plant based foods is awesome. Regardless, you still have to listen to your body and determine what’s right for you. Sounds like you’re making some great changes. You motivate me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

