Good Links: I Came to Get Down

The last week or two, I’ve struggled with my journey. Mudder Lovers, I’m not bullshitting you when I say that the road ahead is difficult. It’s hard to keep working when you don’t see the results you want as quick as you’d like.

My dad used to say, “Son, take care of the pennies, and the dollars will take care of themselves.” That statement is all about not reaching the goal, but about building the habit. Focus on taking one day at a time, and you will eventually get to where you want to go.

Anyhoo, during my downtime, I’ve been reading a really fun blog written by a really fun guy. The blog is I Came to Get Down, and it’s documenting a journey undertaken by the writer, Tony Flags, to slim down. Quick posts, but they pack a lot of punch. Milestones, emotions–they’re in here. It’s like a public journal about a struggle that, for some, can be a private hell. I Came to Get Down is, to me, one man talking about his way out of said hell, but he’s doing it all cool-like while sippin’ a brew. Because he can. Because Tony Flags is cooler than the other side of the pillow on ice in Alaska with Ice Cube drinkin’ a Coors Light. Check it out, get motivated, and get to work!

One response to “Good Links: I Came to Get Down

  1. You’re motivating me to keep my head in the game for Tough Mudder. I’m not really training for it this year, but I’m definitely doing it next year. You got this! You’ll be Tough Muddering in no time!

Leave a comment